Kingdom Protista Examples With Pictures

Kingdom Protista are simple eukaryotic organisms; they are not classified with animals, plants, or fungus. Protists are unicellular in nature. It has been discovered that these things are colonies of several types of cells. The majority of biologists make their homes in bodies of water, wet settings on land, and some even study bugs.

What is kingdoms Protista?

The term “Protista” is derived from the Greek word “protistos,” which means “beginning.” These creatures are typically unicellular in nature, with nuclei linked to the organisms. Some of them also contain features that aid in movement, such as flagella or cilia.

Kingdom Protista

Scientists think that the ancestors of plants, animals, and fungi ran away from these three states billions of years ago. As a result, connections were made between plants, animals, and fungi. Even though the ancestors of this “protozoan” are made up, some of the genes in animals and plants today can be traced back to these ancient creatures.

Because of this, these organisms are usually thought of as the first eukaryotic life forms. They came before plants, animals, and fungi.

Characteristics of Kingdom Protista

Eukaryotes are the most important thing about all living things. This means that they have a membrane around a core. Kingdom Protista also has the following:

  • Most of these are aquatic and live in soil or damp places.
  • Most protists are single-celled, but some, like kelp, have more than one cell. Some kelp is very large, over 100 feet. (Giant Aeon).
  • Like all eukaryotes, the cells of this species have a nucleus and organs that are attached to membranes.
  • They can eat their own food or eat other things. Autotrophs can survive by making their own food. On the other hand, heterotrophic organisms get their food from other organisms like plants or animals.
  • Symbiosis is looking for these kinds of members. For example, kelp (seaweed) is an example of a multicellular organism that protects beavers from predators. On the other hand, sea urchins usually eat kelp.
  • Parasites have been found on protesters as well. Trypanosomes are a type of protozoan that can cause sleep sickness in humans.
  • Through their cilia and flagella, proteases show how they move. Some Protista organisms have things called pseudopods that may help them move.
  • Protista reproduce without a mate. Sexual reproduction is very rare and only happens during times of stress.

Classification of Protista

Kingdom Protista is divided into the following categories:

Classification of Protista


Protozoa are organisms that only have one cell. Protists have been called “animal” protists in the past because protozoa are heterosexual and act like animals.

There are parasitic protozoa in the cells of bigger organisms as well. Most members don’t have a set size. For example, the shape of an amoeba can change at any time, but the shape of a paramecium is always like a sleeper. Amoeba, Paramecium, Sporangia, and Euglena are some of the most well-known protozoa. Euglena is different from the other members of this group because it has chlorophyll and can live on its own. This means it can cook all by itself.

Protozoa can be divided into four categories:

Amoeboid protozoans: found mostly in bodies of water, both fresh and salt. They have something called a “pseudo foot,” which is a prosthetic leg that helps them change shape and hold and swallow food. For example, amoeba

Flagellated protozoans: Members of this group have flagella, as the name suggests. They can live on their own or on other organisms. Like euglena

Ciliated protozoans: They have cilia all over their bodies, which help them move and get food. They live in water all the time. Wg, Paramecium

Sporozoans: These organisms are called “spore-forming” because a part of their life cycle looks like a spore. For example, Plasmodium, Plasmodium.


Molds are types of creatures known as saprophytes (they feed on dead and rotting materials). They may essentially be split up into two categories. Molds made of clay and molds made of water. These are relatively simple creatures that have a great number of nuclei.

Mold is almost always identifiable by the presence of spores, which may sometimes even be seen with the naked eye.


Another category that the Protista Empire has is this one. The majority of these species are either unicellular or multicellular. They produce their own food via photosynthesis and may be found in saltwater lakes or freshwater sources. They are distinguished by the rigidity of their cell walls.

Green algae, brown algae, red algae, diatoms, burned plants, and eucalypts are the six different forms of algae. Green algae are the most common type of algae. Examples of well-known algae include Volvox, Netrium, and Spirogyra, amongst others.

See Also:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.